Awards & Recognition – June 2022


Awards and recognition

A message from Bear

It’s so important that we thank and recognise our fellow Scouts for their incredible service. These are the shining lights who make Scouts possible.

Most of us in Scouts look for, and expect, no reward. But a timely word of thanks is always appreciated and can work wonders.

I convey my congratulations  to all those that have been recognised and thank you for all the hard work you have given to Scouting. 

Chief Scout

Bear Grylls OBE

The Award for Merit

Awarded for outstanding service. It implies keen, conscientious, imaginative and dedicated service over a sustained period, of at least 12 years duration

Charnwood – Amanda Jordan

Charnwood  – Catriona Cooper

Charnwood – Clive Graham

Charnwood – Neil Whittall

Charnwood – Peter Blount

Hinckley – Jennifer Michie

Hinckley – Nigel Mann

Hinckley – Roy Murrell

Loughborough – James Field

Loughborough – Nicolas Tinsley

Loughborough – Patrick Barber

North East -Vance Harvey

Bar to the Award for Merit

Awarded after at least five years of further outstanding service after receiving the Award for Merit.


North East – Doreen Hurst

Hinckley – Tracy Heywood

The Bar to the Silver Acorn

Awarded after at least 20 years’ service, which should be specially distinguished and appreciably better than outstanding.

Loughborough – Jonny Kitching

The Chief Scout's Commendation for Good Service

Awarded in respect of not less than 5 years good service, which stands out. It should be regarded as the Chief Scout’s recognition of the very real contribution made to the Scouts by the individual concerned.

Hinckley – Carolyn Lewington

Hinckley – Eric Oliver

North East – Jarina Sheikh

Loughborough – Duncan Ellis

Loughborough – Elizabeth Newton

Loughborough – Ian Wardle

Loughborough – Maria Hopewell

Loughborough – Matthew Moore

The Silver Wolf

This award is the unrestricted gift of the Chief Scout.

It’s only awarded for service of a most exceptional nature.

It’s not normally awarded until at least a Silver Acorn has been previously gained and a further prolonged period of exceptional service has been achieved. In practice, it’s rarely awarded for less than 30 years’ service although, because it is the Chief Scout’s unrestricted gift, no length of service is prescribed.

Loughborough – Alan Dimelow

Created by potrace 1.10, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2011

Upcoming Events

Latest News